M.A.F.I.A

2 02 2009

It’s been a few years now of trying to upkeep a personal blog. Especially in the last couple of years that I have started day-dreaming about having my own cool/funny/creative/exciting/interesting/witty/clever/ original blog. I have started many a blog, sometimes even 2 or 3 at one time but I never seem to be able to keep up with cool stuff to post. I even went out and bought a semi-decent-idiot-proof camera thinking that my investment would encourage me to keep up with the Jonses. I spent an entire week learning the basics of HTML so I could ‘pimp’ my MySpace page – which I did. Even that ended up being so complicated and messed up by the thousands of ‘friends’ I added. Eventually it too got scrapped. 

You might be thinking then why the hell would I try again? 

Well, the inspiration came from a good mate of mine which you all might know – (DJ) MAFIA. For the uninitiated, Mafia is one of Australia’s best self promoter. The fact that she loves herself so much makes her one of Melbourne’s most wanted commodities in the entertainment industry. I have never seen someone work so hard before in promoting themselves (apart from my mother), and deserves everything she has her hands in. She DJ’s at every big party in town, every other summer festival and even has a slot on ABC’s ‘Spicks & Specks’ this year. She has dabbled in acting, singing and every other form of entertainment you can think of. She is a celebrity in the gay and lesbian community and even finds time to work 3 days a week at Sneaker Freaker Magazine. And to add to the already full week, she also blogs for ‘The Vine’ and manages to upload 100’s of pics on her own personal blog every couple of days. By now you’re wondering if there is anything that this character can’t do. 

In the past few months, Mafia has stepped up her game – which in turn has inspired me to do the same. And I have always let myself down with not being consistent at most things I do. Im sick of riding this wave of ups and downs and I think Im ready now to commit to keeping a daily dairy of my life. And what better way to do it in this day and age than on the internet. 

So here we are. My first proper blog post, which is dedicated to Mafia. Thanks for being a role model, always reminding me to believe in myself. Thanks for also being a friend – considering we locked horns the first time we met!!! 

Mafia – I salute you.

Mafia Bike

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

