STEREOSONIC

8 12 2009

Feeling like a bus hit my head, I dragged myself out of bed Saturday arvo and was contemplating checking out the STEREOSONIC FESTIVAL. I was lucky enough to score some free tickets – so I thought I had better make use of them. Some maccas and a whole lot of Nurofen later, the wife and I made our way to the showgrounds via public transport.

We were given a taste of what was to be expected at the festival on the way there. The trains were filled with revellers, mostly kids who were dressed in what you would call the ‘latest trends’. I used to hate on these kids, but the older I get, the more I realise that I was once that age. I don’t think I ever wore anything as tragic, although thats a matter of opinion I suppose.

Arriving at the venue there were all sorts of dramas. It was mainly logistical as half the staff who were stationed at the gates were either fucked off their brains or couldn’t speak english. After trying to get information out of the box office staff who seemed non too interested and a whole lot of queueing up, we finally made our way in. All up around 90 minutes of waiting.

I have to admit that I was actually blown away with the amount of people that were there. It looked like at least 40…maybe even 50 thousand people! Definitely the most people I’ve ever seen in one place.

Because I had to work that night, and the fact that we only got in at 5pm, I had a couple of precious hours to check it all out. Sad to say, I didn’t get to see much cos the second room we walked into was the Techno room where Marco Carola was playing at the time. And thats where we stayed for most of the time I was there. We also bumped into some old mates who managed to smuggle some alcohol in, but to their dismay there was no soft drink to be bought! Imagine Nutrient Water bottles filled with Vodka – strapped to bodies suicide bomber style. I dunno how they got away with it but props to them!

Apart from Marco Carola and UMEK in the room I was in momst the time, I also managed to sneak a peek at The Bloody Beetroots, CHICANE, The Bag Raiders and Melbourne’s very own Mike Callander. I can’t emphasise how much I enjoyed the music from the Techno room as I haven’t heard that sound played at a party for a number of years now. The highlight of my afternoon for sure.

I was gonna make more comments on the crowd but personally I didn’t think it was bad at all. Sure you had all sorts of crews and most were fucked up either on substances or just fucked up with their choice of clothing and bad tattoos, but overall it was cool. Could also be the fact that I was only there for a couple of hours.

After the jump are the pics that I took. Not many but should highlight how big the event was. Im sure you will see more and better pics of it in the next few days floating around.

MARCO COROLA

CHICANE

THE BAG RAIDERS

MIKE CALLANDER

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

