FREAK!

31 01 2010

I used to play tennis when I was a teenager. Never too good, but always keen and always up to date with the latest news. Because of that I understand the whole Australian Open madness albeit being boring at times.

Just wanted to say that Roger Federer is a gun. Thats all. 16 Grand Slam titles and I’m sure he’s nowhere near finished. Let’s hope he doesn’t have too many dark secrets in his closet like a certain endangered animal golfer….





BIG DAY OUT PICS

31 01 2010

DEAD PREZ

It has been a number of years since I last went to The Big Day Out. Ever since I have gotten a gig at RainBow Serpent Festival – which happens to fall on the same weekend every year – The Big Day Out hasn’t been very appealing. This year tho I got a last minute call to do a half hour set before Melbourne’s PHRASE. What sealed the deal that BDO so happened to fall on the Tuesday as opposed to the Monday like every other year. The fact that it was also a foot-in-the-door for me for any sort of summer festival, let alone The Big Day Out, was too crazy to refuse.

So after a massive weekend at the bush playing with hippies, Sooz and I ended up at the BDO on Australia Day along with 50,000 other punters eager to catch their favourite bands. I didn’t think many of the bands were too crash hot but I was well impressed with how far the festival had come in terms of facilities, logistics and organisation. Apart from a lot of walking between the 8 stages, everything was pretty easy to access. Considering there were more than 50,000 people running amuck, we had a pretty pleasant day.

The pics after the jump show the acts that we went to check out, all of whom did a decent job. A few who I didn’t have pics for that were notable was Sam La More and Groove Armada.

Read the rest of this entry »